The table apart and the special people

This last week I’ve gone off to a conference of sorts. You know the things where a bunch of people gather in big rooms and listen to people speak about stuff.  This one was a church get together so the stuff in question was mostly about God (go figure) and the formatting was very church like (praise and worship time, lots of praying, people shouting AMEN, and the speakers were pastors giving sermons.)

I have to say overall I had a really nice time.  I met some cool people, got some good stories out of it.  But there is one thing that kind of upset me.  And by kind of I mean I had a full on “are you really serious about this” moment.

As I think I mentioned, the speakers are pastors.  I have this thing about pastors; it is difficult for me to like them (this is me telling you my bias so you can disregard anything I say if you so wish); well not too much of a difficulty, there are actually several pastors in my life and I really enjoy their company.  They are knowledgeable, interesting, and fun.

Mainly I like the fact that they are humble.  I don’t call them Pastor ____; I call them Sam, Shawn, Eric, Tabitha, several of them actually shy away from the title as they are worried that people will add this “above the masses” status that seems too often to accompany the title.

This status actually describes my issue with the general mass of pastors quite well and leads me to the problem I had this week.  There was catered food all week (really nice food.  Jerk chicken, curried goat, rice and beans, this weird green roasted veg thing… Oh, loved that food) set in a cafeteria setting.  Everyone would queue and get their food then settle at one of the tables.

There was this one table that stood out from the rest.  It had a table cloth, and table settings; it was reserved for “VIPs”.  Didn’t think much of it at first to be honest, simply figured someone had ordered something special, didn’t really care enough to be bothered.  I knew I wasn’t allowed in that particular part of the caf; end.

Then one day I was sitting eating my food and I saw the group that got this special table.  It was the pastors and their families.  And the food was brought to them; while everyone had to pick and choose which meal option they wanted, this table was served a bit of everything at their own private little island at the front of the cafeteria.

This upset me.  Properly unhappy about this, there was a status given to the pastors that placed them above everyone else.  I get giving them free food; they are working after all.  But why separate them like that?  It reminded me of the table at wedding receptions where the wedding party sits.  It is set apart, it is special, it is… detached.

Now I know some people like to place pastors on some pedestal that would justify this treatment.  However, I think, we’ve seen enough pastors fall (in a very public way thanks to said position) that we can safely assume that they are fallibly human. Just like you, just like me.  Which gives me a sort of catch 22 moment.

See it’s one of two ways here: Either they are better Christians and followers of Jesus than the average human being, in which case they would follow His example (ie eating with the tax collectors and outcasts, spending time with the people, and having the confidence and authority to teach, but never raising himself above others, or lowering them down for his benefit) or they aren’t.  In either case it leads to the same thing; they either are just like the masses or they should act like they are.

Alright, so there is one argument I can think of that would come in favor of this table.  These guys are preaching every day during this week, possibly twice a day; maybe they need a break.  You don’t want to spend a whole day at work just to find that there is a line of people that want you to keep discussing everything you’ve just gone over.  You want, and need, some time alone or with your family; completely understandable.

But I’m guessing that when you are done with your work day you go home.  Because as long you are surrounded by the people that you are working with (like a pastor and the people they preach to maybe…) you will be talking about work.  Lawyers who go for a drink after work will start talking about cases. Doctors will start talking about patients and teachers about students.  It’s the unfortunate consequence of being around people you work with.

You may say that this is assuming that pastors and congregations are on equal ground (which I’ve already made clear that I do) but say they aren’t.  Okay, but Christians of all levels are called to minister to the world so say they are of a lesser caliber; the newbies if you will.  So, lawyer to paralegal; Doctor to medical student; teacher to substitute/parent/day care provider (I do not think any of these are lesser in any way!  It’s not an exact comparison but it makes my point).  Same concept, the conversations topics will be the same.

Put yourself in proximity of work and you open yourself up to questions and comments.  If they were tired (which I’m sure they were), if they needed a break (which they probably did) they could have gone somewhere else.  They could have had their private quiet time in a private quiet place instead of in the middle a public and busy cafeteria.

One of the amazing people in my life.  Who I do sometimes call pastor.  Meet Pastor Purple!!!

One of the amazing people in my life. Who I do sometimes call pastor. Meet Pastor Purple!!!

Maybe I’m overreacting to this.  Fine, it happens.  But this moment gave me a sense of distance and disconnect that I’m not willing to have with someone I’m supposed to be trusting my spiritual guidance (for lack of a better phrase) too.

On one hand it reminded why I have a problem with the hierarchy of organized religion; on the other hand it reminded me why I am very, very blessed to have the people who have the title of pastor I have in my life.

To the pastors that I get to have tea with, joke with, and tease; the ones I don’t have to call pastor unless I’m telling people their job title.  Thank you for speaking with me and not at me, and for reminding me that I can’t generalize.

One comment on “The table apart and the special people

  1. Jammie says:

    This post made me re-evaluate how I think about pastors. I realized I do put pastors on a sort of pedestal. I think it’s inevitable with any sort of leadership position. People expect leaders to be above the ordinary, to know more, to be more. It’s probably why I judge them more harshly when they fail, too. Which now that I think about it is unfair because you are right: they are fallible human being and they will mess up at some point.

    When I think about it, pastors lead lives that are an excruciating balancing act: On the one hand, I do like pastors that are down to earth, friendly, mix well with all types, are human. On the other hand, I don’t want them *too* human because I want to know that the person who is teaching me does know more than me and is leading in the right direction.

    Cheez, being a pastor must be a special calling because I wouldn’t want to lead a congregation full of people like me. 😀

    A note on the special table: I think the special table may have just been a way of showing appreciation to the speakers. It could also have had a practical side: making sure the speakers had food and didn’t have to wait for it; maybe there was a tight turnaround between lectures?

    Depending on the situation, I’ve seen this special treatment in other professions as well: in a hospital caf, doctors get to skip lines; in a school caf I’ve seen the teachers do it. (Oddly, the special treatment seems to involve food as well. :D)

You know you have something to say... Share it!